The 39th edition of the Tammer Tournament will be starting on Friday

18 October 2018 News

The 39th edition of the Tammer Tournament will be holding in the upcoming days and the event starts with the Technical Meeting in the evening today. The Pyynikkin Sports Hall is the traditional venue of the strong international event in Tampere which will be the highlight of this weekend after the Youth Olympic Games.

The preliminaries will be taking place on Friday, the semi-finals on Saturday and the finals are scheduled on October 21. Besides to the 10 men’s weight classes according to the AIBA rules the Tammer Tournament will be held also as women’s invitational elite competition at the lightweight (60kg) and welterweight (69kg) in Round Robin format.

The first edition of the Tammer Tournament was held in 1977 and since then several stars competed in the event including Kazakhstan’s icon Serik Konakbayev, United States’ boxing heroes as Mike Tyson, Oscar De La Hoya, Finland’s Joni Nyman and Jyri Kjall, Germany’s Sven Ottke, Hungary’s Olympic Games winner Istvan Kovacs, Russia’s Olympic Champion Aleksandr Lebziak, England’s Joseph Joyce, France’s Jerome Thomas and current AIBA World Champion Sofiane Oumiha.

Tampere hosted the 1993 edition of the AIBA Men’s Elite World Boxing Championships and the European Men’s Elite Boxing Championships in 2000. Furthermore the Tammer Tournament was a Qualification Event for the European boxers for the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games in 1999.

WSB stars impressed in the 2015 edition of the Tammer Tournament in Tampere and following that young future hopes dominated the competition two years ago with Sweden’s three gold medals. England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland shined in the Tammer Tournament last year, most of the gold medals were achieved by these powerful nations in 2017.

Finland’s strong women duo their defending EUBC European Women’s Champions as Mira Potkonen and Elina Gustafsson both are titleholders in the Tammer Tournament and will be attending in the new 39th edition in Tampere. The Rio 2016 Olympic Games bronze medallist Mira Potkonen had difficulties and illness in the Boxam Women’s Tournament two and half weeks ago where she lost her strong unbeaten series in the final.

Brazil, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia and Philippines will be also arriving to the Tammer Tournament besides to the European nations. Among our continent’s National Federations the following countries registered to take part to the 39th Tammer Tournament: Austria, Denmark, Estonia, host Finland, France, Hungary, Monaco, Norway, Russia, Scotland, Sweden, Ukraine.

Mongolia’s London 2012 Olympic Games bronze medallist veteran Uranchimeg Munkh-Erdene is the biggest name on the entry list of the Tammer Tournament. Scotland’s AIBA World Boxing Championships competitor Sean Lazzerini, France’s AIBA Youth World Boxing Championships bronze medallist Enzo Grau, Finland’s EUBC European Confederation Youth Boxing Championships bronze medallist Krenar Aliu and Jordan’s Asian Games bronze medallist Zeyad Eshaish are members of the new promising generation.


2nd euro cup8th nations cupadem jashariahmet comertAIBAalbenaAnapaAnders Holmbergantalyaarmeniaassisiazerbaijanbakubalkanbeegeebelarusbelgradebelgrade winnerBIHbocskai istvan memorialboris van der vorstbornemisszabornemissza memorialbotevgradbotvibotvinnikboxamboxingboxngbrandenburg cupbudapestbulgariacastellonchampionshipschemistry worldcupcologne boxing world cupcroatiaCzech Boxing Associationczech republicdanas pozniakasdanish boxing associationDavid Kvachadzedebrecendomenique natodutch boxing associationEindhovenekaterinburgeliteelite womenemil jecheveubceuropean championshipseuropean gameseuropeanchampionshipsEyüp Gözgeçfeliks stammfinalsfinlandfisufrancefranco falcinellifrancofalcinelligalatigeebeegeorgiagermanygliwicegolden beltgolden gloveGolden Glove of Vojvodinagolden gonggomelgovernor cupgrand prixgreat silk waygreecegroznyGrzegorz NowaczekhallehamburghelsinkiherzegovinaHeydar Aliyev Cuphungarian boxing associationhungaryIndiaistanbulitalyjulius tormajuniorjunior nations cupjuniors nations cupkadyrovkaunaskharkivklimanov memorialkolchin memorialKonstantin Korotkovkorotkov memorialkosovoKőszeglah nimanilars brovilLee Pullenlithuanialive streamingliventsevLivestreamingmadridMagomed Salam Umahanov Memorialmartina la pianaMediterranean gamesmeetingmemorial vllazniaminskminsk 2019moldavian beltmoldova boxing federationMoscowMr. Haralambos Svinelismurcianations cupnetherlandsnewsletternicolae lincanikolai mangerodessaolympicgamespanathinaikospassion for boxingpassion for boxing awardpavlyukovpernell whitakerpetroleum countriespodgoricapolandpolish boxing federationpraguepresidentqueen of the ringRahimovray silvasresultsromaniaRomeroseto degli abruzziRotterdamrussiarussianSandor CsotonyisarajevoschoolboysschoolgirlssemifinalsSerbiasilesiansimon trestinSimon Trestin memorialskopjesloveniaslovenia openslovenske konjicesocikassofiasomborspainspanish boxing federationsportst. petersburgstrandjasuboticaSvata Žáčekswedentammertammer tournamenttamperetbilisiteamthe star of the ringtournamenttouurnamenttraining campturkeyturkish boxing federationukraineumakhanovunder 22under22urkaineusti nad labemuzbekistanvalenciavalladolidVasilii ChirtocavilniusvladikavkazvrbaswarsawWladimir KlitschkowomenboxingwomenEUBCworld championshipsworld cup of petroleum countriesworldboxingchampionshipsworldchampionshipsyekaterinburgyouthyouth olympic gamesyouth womenyoutholimpicgamesYouthOlympicGamesyoutubezagreb